Marriages Performed in James City County
The certified copy can be obtained either in person or by mail. To obtain a copy in person, go to the Circuit Court Clerk’s Office located on the first floor of the Courthouse. The fee for a certified copy of a marriage license is $2.50 per copy and will be made while you wait. Payment is by cash, cashiers check, personal check, money order payable to "Clerk of the Circuit Court," or credit card.
Marriage Licenses Issued Between July 1, 1997 - June 30, 2001
Marriage licenses issued between July 1, 1997 and June 30, 2001, have not been configured to prevent disclosure of the Social Security Number or control number and shall not be available for general public inspection in the offices of clerks of the circuit courts.
Requests Made By Bride or Groom
Either the Bride or Groom may obtain copies of their marriage license in person by appearing in the offices of the Circuit Court with valid photo identification (driver's license, passport, military ID).
Requests Made By Other Individuals
If an individual other then the applicants wishes to obtain a copy of a license issued during this time span they shall only obtain copies in the following ways:
- Upon the order of the circuit court within which such application was made or register is maintained,
- Pursuant to a lawful subpoena duces tecum issued to the clerk
- Upon the written and notarized authorization of either of the applicants
- Upon the request of a law-enforcement officer or duly authorized representative of the Division of Child Support Enforcement in the course of performing his official duties
Copies by Mail
In order to obtain a copy by mail, the customer must prepare a written request providing the date of the marriage, the name of the groom and maiden name of the bride. A self-addressed, stamped envelope must be enclosed. The fee for a certified copy of a marriage license is $2.50. The method of payment can be cashiers' check, personal check, money order or credit card. The copy will be mailed within 2 weeks from receipt of the request.
Marriages Performed In Virginia
If the marriage occurred in the Commonwealth of Virginia, but you are unsure what Circuit Court issued the marriage license, you can request a copy of your marriage license by contacting the Division of Vital Records in Richmond. Their address is:
Division of Vital Records
P.O. Box 1000
Richmond, VA 23219-1000.
To request a copy of your marriage license, you must complete an Application for Certification of a Vital Record (form VS6) on the Office of Vital Records website. For more information, call 804-662-6200 or visit the State Health Department website.
You may also obtain a copy certified from your local Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) for Virginia marriage license only.