Skip Navigation and go to Main Content
JCC Home page JCC Home Page
Home » Departments & Services » Administration » Elected Officials
  Facebook Twitter YouTube Calendar
  Click to change text size Print this page ePayment Share this page

Contact Information:


James City Government

101 Mounts Bay Rd.
Williamsburg, VA 23185
Directions - Directory




Hours of Operation


8 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Hours of Operation may vary
in some areas!


Elected Officials


Board of Supervisors

James City County is divided into five election district, each of which is represented by a supervisor that serves on the governing board for a period of four years. Supervisors are elected by their voters in each district. Current terms are staggered with representatives from Roberts, Stonehouse, and Berkeley Districts being elected one year and representatives form Powhatan and Jamestown Districts being elected two years later. The Board of Supervisors passed all laws and determines all policies which govern the County. It appoints a county administrator, most boards and commissions, appropriates funds for  County operations and generally oversees all County functions.

Clerk of the Circuit Court

The Honorable Betsy B. Woolridge, Clerk - The Clerk of the Circuit Court is a constitutional Official and is elected by the voters of the City of Williamsburg and County of James City. The Clerk is the custodian of the Circuit Court records and handles administrative matters of the Circuit Court. Several of the services provided by the Clerk's Offices are: record land records and plats; probate wills; process notary public applications; issue marriage licenses; record military discharge forms (DD-214) and assumed business names.

Commissioner of Revenue

Responsible for assessing all personal property, this office registers cars, trucks, motor homes, trailers, motorcycles, boats, and airplanes, as well as registers mobile homes for tax purposes. Responsibilities also include issuing business licenses, assessing business personal property, machinery and tools, and administering food and beverage and transient occupancy tax. The Office assists taxpayers in filing of State income tax returns and reviews returns for errors, and assists with the filing of estimated payments for the State, land use applications, and tax relief for the elderly and disabled.

Commonwealth's Attorney

Jointly represents James City County and the City of Williamsburg and is responsible for the prosecution of all violations of State law in the County and the City.

Juvenile and Domestic Relations District Court

The Juvenile and Domestic Relations District Court handles all matters involving juveniles such as traffic matters and juvenile delinquency cases. The Court also hears family abuse cases, cases where adults have been accused of child abuse or neglect, and criminal cases where the defendant and alleged victim are family or household members. In addition, this Court handles other matters involving the family such as custody, visitation and support. 


The General Registrar is appointed by the Electoral Board. Elections are conducted by a three-member Electoral Board, assisted by the General Registrar and staff.  Members of the Electoral Board are appointed by Circuit Court Judges on a staggered basis. 


The Sheriff's Department, which represents both the City of Williamsburg and James City County, is charged with civil processing procedures, court room security, and the transportation of prisoners including juveniles.

State of Virginia

The General Assembly creates and changes the laws of Virginia. It is made up of two groups: the Senate of Virginia and the House of Delegates. There are 40 Senators and 100 Delegates. They are elected by the people of Virginia. Senators serve four-year terms, and Delegates serve two-year terms.

The General Assembly meets every year beginning on the second Wednesday in January. They are in session for 60 days in even-numbered years and normally lengthens the 30-day, odd-numbered year session to 46 days.

The Lieutenant Governor presides in the Senate and the Speaker presides in the House.


The Treasurer's Office is responsible for collecting all licenses, fees, and taxes rendered by the County and the proper accounting of all receipts, investing idle cash balances and maintaining all bank accounts used by the County and Joint School System. The Treasurer also collects State Fiduciary Income and State Estimated Income Taxes.

White House

For two hundred years, the White House has stood as a symbol of the Presidency, the United States government, and the American people. Its history, and the history of the nation's capital, began when President George Washington signed an Act of Congress in December of 1790 declaring that the federal government would reside in a district "not exceeding ten miles square on the river Potomac." President Washington, together with city planner Pierre L'Enfant, chose the site for the new residence, which is now 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue.

The Official Site of James City County, Virginia
e-Subscribe | Contact Us | How do I? | e-Payment
Privacy Practices and Security Policy