Skip Navigation and go to Main Content
JCC Home page JCC Home Page
Home » Departments & Services » Communications » Virginia Authorized for Additional Hurricane Isabel Assistance
  Facebook Twitter YouTube Calendar
  Click to change text size Print this page ePayment Share this page

Virginia Authorized for Additional Hurricane Isabel Assistance


Joint Information Center

Disaster News

CONTACTS: FEMA/VDEM News Desk - (804) 217-8952 - NR # 32 DR-1491-VA
Colleen M. Hiam, SBA - (716) 282-4612, ext. 202


RICHMOND, VA - As Hurricane Isabel damage assessment continues, 28 more jurisdictions in the Commonwealth of Virginia have been authorized for additional assistance, according to federal and commonwealth officials. This brings the total jurisdictions eligible to 40.


The independent cities of Emporia, Fairfax, Poquoson and Suffolk, and the counties of Accomack, Augusta, Brunswick, Caroline, Chesterfield, Dinwiddie, Essex, Goochland, Greensville, Henrico, Isle of Wight, James City, King and Queen, King William, Louisa, New Kent, Northampton, Page, Rockbridge, Southampton, Stafford, Surry, Sussex, and York have been approved for Categories C through G under the U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) Public Assistance Program.


The expanded scope of disaster assistance means that these local governments will be eligible for additional money for permanent infrastructure repair, explained David Fukutomi, federal coordinating officer. "The disaster declaration issued by President Bush on Sept. 18 authorized federal funding in these cities and counties for individual assistance, emergency services and debris removal. We’re glad to be able to provide this additional help."


State Coordinating Officer Michael Cline said the added funds are important to residents of the jurisdictions. "Hurricane Isabel damaged some important parts of the local infrastructure," Cline said, "and now we will get more help in making those repairs."


Under the disaster declaration, a total of 99 independent cities and counties were declared national disaster areas. All of those jurisdictions were made eligible for individual assistance, emergency protective measures and debris removal funds. Initially, only 12 of the local governments were eligible for FEMA Public Assistance Categories C through G, which addresses permanent repair to such infrastructure items as public buildings, equipment, roads, bridges, water facilities and utilities. The infrastructure program is funded on a cost-share basis with FEMA providing 75 percent of the funding and state and local governments covering the remaining 25 percent.


On March 1, 2003, FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security. FEMA's continuing mission within the new department is to lead the effort to prepare the nation for all hazards and effectively manage federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates proactive mitigation activities, trains first responders, and manages Citizen Corps, the National Flood Insurance Program and the U.S. Fire Administration.

More disaster information is available on the Internet at or SBA information at Information also is available through the FEMA 24-hour fax-on-demand service by calling 202-646-FEMA.


The Virginia Department of Emergency Management also has an Internet site at


Disaster recovery assistance is available without regard to race, color, sex, religion, national origin, age, disability or economic status. Anyone who believes he or she has been discriminated against should contact the federal or state coordinating officer.



Connect with James City County!  Find us online and on Facebook, Twitter  and YouTube.


More News Releases >>

The Official Site of James City County, Virginia
e-Subscribe| Contact Us | How do I? | e-Payment
Privacy Practices and Security Policy