Skip Navigation and go to Main Content
JCC Home page JCC Home Page
Home » Departments & Services » Police Department » State Re-Accreditation 2011 - Third Award
  Facebook Twitter YouTube Calendar
  Click to change text size Print this page ePayment Share this page

Contact Information:


Police Department

4600 Opportunity WAy

Williamsburg, VA 23188


Mailing Address:

P.O. Box 8784

Williamsburg, VA 23187

Directions - Directory


P: 757-253-1800

F: 757-229-8729




For Emergencies
dial 911


JCC Crime Line


Submit Crime/Drug Info!

Police Department Achieves State Re-Accreditation in 2015 – 4th Award

2011 Re-Accreditation | 2007 Re-Accreditation | Initial State Accreditation - 2003

The Virginia Law Enforcement Professional Standards Commission (VLEPSC) awarded James City County Police Department (JCCPD) its third re-accredited status on February 19, 2015 for its success in complying with 191 mandated standards. The Police Department remains on a list of fewer than 100 law enforcement agencies in Virginia that have achieved VLEPSC accredited status.

The Department's Re-Accreditation achievement was spearheaded by Accreditation Manager David Daigneault (retired Chief of Police).  Assistance was provided by a number of JCCPD staff members to include Chief Brad Rinehimer, retired Chief Emmett Harmon, Deputy Chief Steve Rubino, retired Deputy Chief Stan Stout, Major Eric Peterson, Major Tony Dallman, Lt. Jeff Hicklin, Lt. Jeremy Barnett, Lt. Chris O’Neil, Sgt. John LeClaire, Training Officer Zach Miller, and Records Supervisor Kay Riggs.

The award culminated the efforts that began four years prior in 2011 when the Department received its second re-accreditation award.  At that time, it was the first police department in the state to receive a perfect assessment.  The department’s initial accreditation was achieved in 2003.  The accreditation process requires police agencies to prove compliance in a multitude of areas that touch on all aspects of police work, including everything from personnel, training, equipment, criminal and traffic arrests, to record-keeping and budgeting.  The re-accredited status came after a three-day on-site assessment in which three assessors, selected by the Commission, reviewed the Department and its files. The assessors were Lt. Heather Richardson (Norfolk Sheriff’s Office, team leader), Lt. Pilar Uelmen, (Falls Church Police Department) and Lt. Jeffrey Dube’ (Leesburg Police Department).  The assessment team gave JCCPD many words of compliment in its final report.

The reaccreditation certificate was presented to Chief Brad Rinehimer at the March 24, 2015, Board of Supervisors meeting by Newport News Sheriff Gabriel A. “Gabe” Morgan (VLEPSC Board Member) and Derrick Mays (VLEPSC Program Manager for Virginia Department of Criminal Justice Services). Sheriff Morgan explained that the State Accreditation program requirements had been met by the James City County Police Department which will help ensure efficient and effective law enforcement in the County. JCCPD will continue with the accreditation process with an annual verification and will undergo a full Re-Accreditation assessment in 2019.

accreditation team

Pictured left to right: Major Tony Dallman, Major Eric Peterson, Lt. Jeremy Barnett, Deputy Chief Steve Rubino, Chief Brad Rinehimer, Accreditation Manager Dave Daigneault, Lt. Heather Richardson (Norfolk Sheriff’s Office – assessment team leader), Gary Dillon (former VLEPSC Program Manager for DCJS), and Derrick Mays (VLEPSC Program Manager for DCJS).


The Official Site of James City County, Virginia
e-Subscribe | Contact Us | How do I? | e-Payment
Privacy Practices and Security Policy