Planning Commission

Regular Meetings

  • 6 p.m.
  • 1st Wednesday of every month
  • Government Complex
    101 Mounts Bay Road
    Building F
    Williamsburg, VA 23185
Meeting Broadcasts
The meetings are broadcast live on JCC TV48 Cox Cable in JCC and the City of Williamsburg. The meetings are also rebroadcast on Community Channel 46 on Fridays. Rebroadcasts are at 8 a.m., 2 p.m., and 8 p.m.


  • Richard Krapf
    Term Expires: January 31, 2022
    District: Powhatan
  • Heath Richardson, Chair
    Term Expires: January 31, 2019
    District: Stonehouse
  • Danny Schmidt, Vice Chair
    Term Expires: January 31, 2020
    District: Roberts
About the Commission
The commission is comprised of 7 members, 1 from each of the 5 electoral districts and 2 at-large, are appointed for staggered 4-year terms by the Board of Supervisors. The Commission is responsible for preparing land use and planning studies; land development ordinances for consideration by the Board of Supervisors; approves subdivision applications; advises the Board of Supervisors on rezoning requests and other zoning map changes. The Commission is empowered by the Code of Virginia. Citizens interested in serving on a County Board or Commission can call 757-253-6609 or 757-253-6685 for information, or fill out the Application to Serve.