2023 Officer of the Year

Senior Police Officer Justin L. White

Senior Police Officer Justin White was named the 2023 James City County Officer of the Year

Senior Police Officer (SPO) Justin White was named 2023 Officer of the Year. 

Over the past year, SPO Justin White has been instrumental in several accomplishments within the department. Justin serves as a senior officer on A Squad and is a valued emerging leader within his shift. SPO White serves as a lead OIC on his shift and is called upon by his supervisors and fellow officers for his experience and expertise in various fields.

SPO White is a firearms, Taser, and OC instructor and one of the department's most active instructors. This past year he was given the responsibility for completing all mandated training while also working to maintain proper staffing levels for all units during this training.  Officer White developed a training plan that worked excellently and provided all necessary training despite critical staffing shortages.  He also developed and taught training for the department on solo response to active shooter situations.  Furthermore, he created and participated in various other trainings on a regular basis.

Senior Officer White consistently maintains such a high level of professionalism with the public and his coworkers that he sets the example for how an officer should always portray themselves. He volunteers for assignments on a regular basis and never hesitates to assist whenever needed. SPO White is a certified ground tracker and assisted in the ground tracking of a missing suicidal juvenile, who was ultimately found unharmed and provided crisis treatment. Justin also received the Officer of the Quarter Award for 2022.

Due to his stellar level of professionalism and expertise, his willingness to consistently work toward the betterment of our officers and our department, and his proven ability as a leader among his peers, Senior Officer Justin White is James City County Police Department’s 2023 Officer of the Year.

Many other officers and citizens received recognition for their superior service and dedication to the community and the Department. 

Additional 2023 Awards

Lifesaving Award

  • Master Police Officer Chad Perrigan
  • Senior Police Officer Trey Heinrich
  • Master Police Officer Walter Whitt
  • Master Police Officer Jonathan Evans
  • Senior Police Officer Kara Mayfield (x2)
  • Lieutenant Jason Slodysko

Meritorious Service Award

  • Master Police Officer Michael Bowen
  • Master Police Officer Brandon Frantz
  • Master Police Officer Daniel Jackson

Distinguished Service Medal

  • Master Police Officer Jeremy Morris
  • Lieutenant Chris O’Neil

Supervisory Service Award

  • Lieutenant Thomas Johnson 
  • Lieutenant Chris O’Neil

Investigating Service Award

  • Detective Tim Renwick

Letters of Commendation

  • Police Officer Caleb Crawford
  • Police Officer Joey Powell
  • Master Police Officer Walter Whitt
  • Detective Leslie Sten
  • Master Police Officer Jenn Tackes
  • Police Officer Jesse Harmon
  • Police Officer Cheyne Morrison
  • Senior Police Officer Roop (x3)
  • Police Officer Courtney Casper
  • Auxiliary Police Officer Eric Darden
  • Master Police Officer Frantz
  • Sergeant Marc Marchand (x2)
  • Sergeant Tiara Suggs
  • Master Police Officer Fitzsimmons
  • Senior Police Officer Ryan Moore
  • Senior Police Officer Kara Mayfield
  • Senior Police Officer Justin White
  • Video Production Specialist Mitchell Anderson

Certificates of Appreciation

  • Master Police Officer Randy Matthews